If you can’t annoy somebody, there’s little point in writing.

Alright, so I’m late again. But only by a week…ish. Things are really taking off here, with rehearsals from morning to night, leaving only enough time to go home, eat dinner, relax for an hour, then sleep.But it’s amazing, and I can’t believe I’m down to only 19 days here, before I leave for my winter break.

Antigone rehearsals are going absolutely amazing, if not kicking my butt completely. Since I am a member of the chorus I partake in 5 separate odes, where we tell stories between scenes. They involve lots of vocals, dancing, swinging about, yelling, and basically acting crazy. They look amazing, but oh gosh jumping around is taking its toll on my body. I already threw my back out a bit this past week. Nothing a little massage from DeeDee couldn’t take care of. It’s amazing to work with these group of eople, and I can’t think of a better collaboration process I’ve had with any other show. It really is growing so organically. Especially since the choral odes have no stage idrections to go off of. Everything we block is purely from us and our imagations.

I can’t tell you how Messenger is going, because we haven’t gotten to my part yet. Tomorrow is the first time I’ll get up and work with that character, but I’m sure it will be fantastic. Our director is a a great guy, and I’ve loved working with him. This will be a fantastic show!

We had another master class! This time with Toby Stephens, an actor we saw perform at the National Theatre here in London. He was fantastic, and despite what others thought I felt he was really talented. As well as stage work he’s done plenty of film. For those a fan of Jane Eyre, he was Mr. Rochester in the BBC version. He’s also Magie Smith’s son, for those Harry Potter fans.

Anyway, he had really wonderful things to tell us. He was very honest, telling us that there would be times when we would want to leave this difficult industry, that we would ask ourselves “why the hell am I putting myself through this?”. But that we should remember why we wanted to do this in the first place, and keep going. Even if things don’t seem to be working out. He also reminded us that theatre is our jobs, not our whole lives, and this is an important distinction to make.

Other than rehearsals, nothing is happening at all. I’m not going out really to explore, finding myself way too tired on weekends to do much. Yesterday was the first time I actually went out and did anything. Malka and I went to Covent Garden (which is slowly becoming one our places to go), and had a lovely breakfast, then went holiday shopping in the outdoor market. I also had my first cup of hot, mulled wine – oh man, now that stuff is good. I might learn how ot make it, so I can cook some for christmas.

Sorry again for my late update. Things are moving so quickly here I can barely keep up and I’m having a hard time believing I’ll be leaving so soon after getting here. Yet I’m already making plans to head back, bracing myself for the horrors of packing , and getting really excited to see home for the three weeks I return. And then it starts all over again!

Published in: on November 21, 2010 at 1:25 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daniellaeb.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/if-you-cant-annoy-somebody-theres-little-point-in-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. U go girl!! Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

