Forever on Thanksgiving Day – The heart will find the pathway home.

Thanksgiving has to be my second favorite holiday. I love the gathering of my family, the bustle (and sometimes panic) in the kitchen, and the happy noise of a family together. The obscene amount of food, the warmth and most of all – the love. Every year, the recipes change, the people, the dinner table, but the love is always the same. This time of the year I am always struck by the intense thanks I feel for having the loving family I have. Each and every one are amazing, beautiful people, who have seen me through my entire life. They have supported me, taught me, and guided me. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I would not be the person I am without their influence. I could never give enough thanks to family, or to my friends. And for the life I have been blessed with.

Last Thanksgiving changed for me and for my family when we said goodbye to Kimberly. I remember still having dinner even through our mourning, because that’s what Kimmy would have wanted. For us to still be together. I don’t feel this should take away anything Thanksgiving meant to me. Rather it solidifies everything I believe about the holiday. It strengthens my love for life , my family, and reminds me that life is a fragile, amazing thing and should not be taken for granted. I am so thankful Kimmy was in my life even if for a brief time. I know she is still with us, and will be forever, always watching over us, looking out for us as we continue through our lives.

So thanks be for everything. Sometimes I am angry at my life, envious of other and forget how beautiful and amazing my life is. It’s nice to have such a loving reminder every year.

This Thanksgiving I am away from my family, and that is hard , but they know they are in my thoughts. And my school has been kind enough supply a thanksgiving dinner for all us American students, who may miss having that annual turkey.

So on a much lighter note – who could keep me from eating turkey on thanksgiving? Not living in London, that’s for sure! Turkey, stuffing, and mashed potatoes here I come! It doesn’t hurt the school is also providing free wine.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Enjoy the food, the family, and the love.

And specifically to my family – I love you all so much! I wish I could be there to hold your hands and pray, but I’m thinking of you all day! Make sure to name the Turkey(s), and eat your weight in green bean casserole (BEST).

For each new morning with its light,
For rest and shelter of the night,
For health and food, for love and friends,
For everything Thy goodness sends.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Published in: on November 25, 2010 at 1:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daniellaeb.wordpress.com/2010/11/25/forever-on-thanksgiving-day-the-heart-will-find-the-pathway-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

