Turbulence is life force. It is opportunity. Let’s love turbulence and use it for change.

Words cannot describe my contentment at the moment. I am sitting in my living room, with the cool wind from outside streaming in periodically through the slightly cracked window, and it ruffles our ugly blue curtains. Despite the piles of work I have waiting for me to take care of this week, and the cleaning I must do, there is such contentment in me, I’m barely phased by the daunting task.

We closed Product last night, brilliantly if I may so myself, and we felt so good about what we had put together the past four weeks. The show seems to have been a success and we didn’t offend as many people as we though we might. Not only this but after the show last night, our director informed us that Neil LaBute had attended.

NEIL LABUTE. A very, very prominent playwright, and one of my favorites. He was seated right behind me (Our performance took place in a tiny classroom and the audience was basically on top of us). Apparently he loved the show, was impressed, and then he had wine with us after the show. He told our director he’d possibly come back for a Q&A session.

So I had a few moments of being star struck, but aside from that just putting the show together felt amazing. Four weeks, three rehearsals a week, and two  performances. SUCCESS. This is why I have chosen this career, and it dawns on me every time I do a show, and it ends. THIS is exactly why I have picked this incredibly difficult, critical, beautiful, passionate profession. The sheer love I feel from working, from giving myself completely over to something and feeling that it was all worth it in the end. It’s hard, and yeah I cry and get down on myself, and things don’t work out. But when they do – it reminds me why. And this is only the beginning! And THAT excites me the most.

I battled my first bout of illness this week, but nothing horrible. A bitty fever, sore throat, and some basic cold symptoms. But I’m finally feeling like my old self – meaning I can breathe. Missed a couple of classes, but I quickly bounced back. Not going to lie, I had a few moments of  “I want my mommy” and definitely wished my Dad was here to make me soup.

Plans have also begun for Spring Break – Malka and I adventuring from Athens to Rome, then to Venice. We’ve got the schedule of when and where we want to be, and since we only have a week it’s going to be a rush, but we’re very confident that we’ll get to everything we want. It just won’t be a typical relaxing vacation – but it’ll be amazing! And a once in a lifetime trip.

So finally it’s the weekend. And I get to relax even if it just feels like a millisecond in the grand scheme of things. I’ve got several scenes to memorize, a monologue, and a few reviews to write for class. But first – I am adventuring to Portobello Road, to seek out antiques and fun. And then I’ll hit the books – I swear!

Published in: on February 5, 2011 at 12:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daniellaeb.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/turbulence-is-life-force-it-is-opportunity-lets-love-turbulence-and-use-it-for-change/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

